Leadership Equalities Communities Management



MCCR consists of a General Council made up of representatives of Affiliate Organisations and Individual Members.

The General Council elects an Executive Committee which in turn elects Honorary Officers.

MCCR Honorary Postions


  • Lord Mayor of Manchester Councillor Harry Lyons JP

Vice Presidents

  • Lord Lieutenant of Greater Manchester Mr. Warren Smith JP
  • Bishop of Manchester The Right Rev Nigel McCulloch
  • Col Sir John Timmins KCVO OBE TD DL
  • Mr. Kabir Ahmed MBE JP DL
  • Dr S S Chatterjee OBE JP FRCP FCCP

Management Committee

The Board of MCCR is the Management Committee which is elected from delegates from various affiliated organisations (2 per organisation) and individual members. The process of co-options is used to ensure a balanced Committee. Consultant Observers are invited to sit on Management Committee to give advice on strategic issues (e.g. Police, Churches and other specialists).

The Honorary Officers for 2012-2013

Mr. Kabir Ahmed (Chair)

Dr. Lata Pathak MBE (Vice-Chair)

Dr. Lata Pathak has a GP surgery in Manchester, and does a lot of work with local communities with particular focus on their health issues. She has also served on community consultation panels of Greater Manchester Police.

Mr. Geremy Phillips BA (Honorary Secretary)

Mr. Philips represents the trade union council. He is the member of equity and champions of all equalities issues. He is involved in promoting community relations at all levels. He has been on MCCR’s committee since 1984. He currently chairs the membership panel. By profession he is an Actor and an Entertainer. He is the Chairman for Equity Variety Branch, Vice Chair of Equity Northern Area Actor’s Committee, Founder member of Equity International Committee for Artistes Freedom, Manchester & Salford Trades Councilor, Governor of Salford University, Director of Salford Unemployed and Community Resource Centre, Past President County Association of Trade Councils.

Mrs. Rajyashree Dutta (Treasurer)

Rajyashree Dutta is the Chair of Indian Association Manchester and works extensively with Indian community in the city. She is the leader of the annual Diwali Mela festival as well as being an office bearer of the Manchester Mega Mela organising group. She has served as the Chair of the Finance & General Purposes Sub Committee.


Staff and Email Addresses

Please see the Contact Us page for details of current staff.